Three APPS Everyone Should Use

I love using my Apple devices. I currently have an iPhone 5, an iPad with Retina Display, and a MacBook Pro… oh yeah, and an AppleTV but we won’t talk about that one today. Here are three APPS I find to be very beneficial and easy to use:

Evernote is a digital file cabinet/notebook that helps you capture and remember everything. You can capture anything (ideas, things you like, things you see and/or hear) and access them anywhere (from your computer, smartphone or tablet). After spending some time on the Evernote website you might want to check out Michael Hyatt’s Handy Index to his Evernote posts. Make sure you check out some of the other Evernote products like Evernote Web Clipper (it allows you to clip webpages and file them in your notebooks). Note: I consider myself to be a novice right now with Evernote as I’ve only discovered the tip of the iceberg of what it can do but I plan to keep exploring it’s potential and other products along the way…

  • DropboxYour stuff, anywhere.

Dropbox is a free service that lets you bring your photos, docs, and videos anywhere and share them easily. You can access your files from all of your devices. It is a great way to keep things backed up and easily accessible when you’re on the go. Note: the first 2GB of space are free but you can get up to 16GB of free space via referrals (sign up via this link to help me get more free space if you are interested in using this APP, I have about 6GB of free space right now).

YouVersion is a simple, ad-free Bible that brings God’s Word into your daily life. Note: my digital Bible has almost completely replaced my paper Bible (I have lots of them but hardly ever take one with me since one of my devices is always with me and that’s pretty much how I read everything these days). By the way, not only do you have instant access to dozens of different versions/translations of the Bible but you also have access to hundreds of Bible reading plans. This is a great way to read and study the Bible. This APP was created by the good people at LifeChurch.TV (help them reach 100 million installs before their 5th anniversary on July 10th).

Your turn… What are some of your favorite APPS? Also, if you use any of these share about your experience and/or tips.

17 Comments

Filed under Apple, Bible, Productivity, Technology

17 responses to “Three APPS Everyone Should Use

  1. seriously ? a virtual bible ? How can that be such a great app ? you can just do one dumb thing with it, read the bible. For a post that is directed to anyone, It’s not useful at all, it’s like saying I’m christian and proud of it. No one cares.

  2. thedailyem

    I use all three of these apps. I use Dropbox almost as my personal hard drive – I barely save anything on my laptop anymore. 100% agree that this is an app/product that everyone should use.

    Evernote, I go through phases with. I can see the usefulness, but I’ve never really worked it into my daily life and have really abandoned using it for the most part. I know tons of people who consider it an absolute must-have though.

    YouVersion – I echo your sentiments that this has largely replaced my paper Bible. I love it and it is definitely a home screen app for me!

    Other apps for me include:
    1. TripCase – Shameless plug for the app I manage. If you travel at all, TripCase helps keep you organized and moves your trip management out of your email.
    2. Mailbox – I am a gmail user and Mailbox and their concept of “inboxzero” has changed the way I manage email. Love, love, love it.
    3. Tweetbot/Facebook/LinkedIn – Gotta have my social media at my fingertips.

    • Emily, thanks for taking the time to read and share. I’ll add @TripCase I’ve been where you are with Evernote but have recently seen the light of it’s usefulness. Take a look at Michael Hyatt’s Handy Index of Evernote (or talk with Derrick Doyle at church, he’s a premium user). I’ve heard great things about Mailbox but I’m a .Mac email guy. I’m hoping that OS 7’s redesign of Mail will include some of the types of features I’ve heard about. I use the Twitter APP and Facebook too (I have a LinkedIn profile only because people kept asking me but I hardly ever use it.

      I plan to do another post later on more APPS (FlipBoard is one of my favorites). In fact, I was going to do 4 this time but decided not to break my rule of only sharing 3 resources per post.

      Have a great week!

  3. Pingback: Three More APPS You Should Check Out | ResourcesForUs

  4. UPDATE: one of the APPS I mentioned just crossed a major milestone — http://www.prweb.com/releases/2013/7/prweb10905595.htm

  5. Derrick Doyle

    Some of my favorites:

    Tweetbot – hands down, the best Twitter client out there.
    Clear – simple & fun list app
    Fantastical – a calendar app that uses natural language input to create we events
    Instacast – my favorite Podcast app; great syncing between devices, and good options for building playlists, etc.

  6. Pingback: Three Helpful Resources from LifeChurch.tv | ResourcesForUs

  7. Had the first two, but not the last one. Thanks for recommending it.

  8. Pingback: Three Top Posts So Far | ResourcesForUs

  9. Pingback: Three APPS You Should Take a Look At | ResourcesForUs

  10. Pingback: Three of My Top Posts | ResourcesForUs

  11. Pingback: Three Top Posts — Year One | ResourcesForUs

Leave a Reply

