Three Resources to Help You Deal With an Overloaded Life

Is the rhythm of your life sustainable? Can you keep your current pace up? Is it healthy? Most of us live hurried lives and hurry can keep us from living well.

For most of my life I lived by the philosophy that says I am what I do, I am how well I do it, I am how much I do it. And because I lived by that philosophy for so long I nearly crashed and burned about a decade ago… Since then, I’ve been trying to live my life with the kind of rhythm God created us to live with. I’ve learned that God simply loves ME, NOT what I do or how well I do it or how much I do it but He simply loves ME. My identity is NOT tied to what I do but who’s I am! With that in mind here are 3 resources I think you’ll find helpful as you strive to live life at a more sustainable pace and with a load that’s not so heavy:

Margin is the space between our load and our limits and is related to our reserves and resilience. It is a buffer, a leeway, a gap; the place we go to heal, to relate, to reflect, to recharge our batteries, to focus on the things that matter most. Margin offers seventy-five practical prescriptions for restoring margin in the essential areas of emotional energy, physical energy, time, and finances. Margin restores what culture has taken away: time to listen, strength to care, space to love.

Do you long for a deep, fundamental change in your life with God? Do you desire a greater intimacy with God? Do you wonder how you might truly live your life as God created you to live it? Spiritual disciplines open us to God’s transforming love and the changes that only God can bring about in our lives. Picking up on the monastic tradition of creating a “rule of life” that allows for regular space for the practice of the spiritual disciplines, Sacred Rhythms (InterVarsity Press, 2006) takes you more deeply into understanding seven key disciplines along with practical ideas for weaving them into everyday life. Each chapter includes exercises to help you begin the practices—individually or in a group context. The final chapter puts in all together in a way that will help you arrange your life for spiritual transformation.

These 4 messages will help you find room to breath (you can watch or listen to this series in your quiet time or with a group of friends — each message contains some discussion questions to guide your time of reflection or conversations). Our lives are busy and fast-paced. The lack of margin increases our stress and shortens our tempers. It can distract us from the most important things in our lives . . . and our relationships suffer. It can even affect our relationship with God because there’s a connection between our willingness to create margin and our faith. Life is better with breathing room.

Your turn… What are some resources or practices that help you deal with the stresses of an overloaded life? Keep this in mind as you go throughout the day: Your life moves to a better place when you move at a sustainable pace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Healthy Living, Spiritual Formation, Transformation

Leave a Reply

