Three of My Favorite Verses

Earlier this week I posted about some of my favorite sermon podcasts. It was hard to narrow that list to 3. It’s even harder to narrow the list of my favorite verses. I thought it would be good to reflect on a few as we move into the weekend (on Monday I’ll share 3 books outside of the Bible that have impacted my life the most). But for now, here are the verses that are most meaningful to me today:

  • “See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!” (1 John 3:1)

Erich’s note: God’s love for us amazes me. Scripture reminds us that He lavishes His great love on us (that means He pours it on us without limit) and calls us His children.  And since that seems too good to be true, John has to remind us, “And that is what we are!” So, as you go through this day no matter what circumstances you face or what voices you hear; never forget that your Father loves you!

  • “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” (Romans 5:8)

Erich’s note: The main reason I love this verse is because it reminds me that God demonstrated His love for us while we were still sinners. He didn’t wait for us to get better (as if we could on our own) but He became one of us at just the right time (when we needed it the most) so that He could save all of us. Now that’s good news!

  • “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” (Proverbs 4:23)

Erich’s note: This verse is important to me because I know there are so many things in the world that go after my heart. Our hearts have been so badly bent out of shape by the world in which we live that they no longer look like the hearts shaped by God.  Dallas Willard notes, “The greatest need you and I have is the renovation of our heart.  That spiritual place within us from which outlook, choices, and actions come has been formed by a world away from God.  Now it must be transformed” (Renovation of the Heart, 14). So, we must guard our hearts above all else…

Your turn… What are some of your favorite verses?

7 Comments

Filed under Bible

7 responses to “Three of My Favorite Verses

  1. Oh! Just one? I have to many! Psalm 9:10 Your loyal followers trust in you, for you, Lord, do not abandon those who seek your help.

  2. Okay, I couldn’t just leave it at one! Proverbs 19:21 There are many plans in a person’s mind, but it is the counsel of the Lord which will stand.

  3. Pingback: The Love of God is With You – Inspirational Bible Verses « Darrell Creswell

  4. Pingback: The Love of God is With You – Inspirational Bible Verses | A disciple's study

  5. Wow, so inspiring. Thank you so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

