Three Books I’m Currently Reading

In addition to reading from the Bible each day, I usually have 2-3 books going at the same time. Here are 3 I’m currently reading:

“Productivity isn’t just about getting more things done. It’s about getting the right things done—the things that count, make a difference, and move the world forward.  In our current era of massive overload, this is harder than ever before. So how do you get more of the right things done without confusing mere activity for actual productivity?  When we take God’s purposes into account, a revolutionary insight emerges. Surprisingly, we see that the way to be productive is to put others first—to make the welfare of other people our motive and criteria in determining what to do (what’s best next). As both the Scriptures and the best business thinkers show, generosity is the key to unlocking our productivity. It is also the key to finding meaning and fulfillment in our work. What’s Best Next offers a practical approach for improving your productivity in all areas of life.”

“A gifted storyteller and spiritual director, Father James Martin, SJ, invites readers to experience the stories of the Gospels in a completely new, vivid, and exciting way to gain a deeper understanding of Jesus. Moving sequentially through the Gospels, considering not only familiar passages but also the “hidden life” of Jesus, the book offers a bold retelling of the life of Christ, faithful to the Christian tradition, while meditating on parts of the narrative that have often escaped notice.  Martin provides personal stories from his own life, the most up-to-date biblical scholarship, and powerful anecdotes from beloved spiritual teachers, and brings the reader along on his own real-life travels through the Holy Land.  Combining the fascinating insights of historical Jesus studies with profound spiritual reflections about the Christ of faith, Martin re-creates the world of first-century Galilee and Judea to usher us into Jesus’s life and times and reveal how Jesus speaks to us today. Jesus: A Pilgrimage is an invitation to know Jesus as Father Martin knows him: Messiah and Savior, as well as friend and brother.”

“Here are 366 thought-provoking and spiritually enriching daily meditations culled from the celebrated writings of novelist, essayist, and preacher Frederick Buechner. These short selections offer daily wisdom, inspiration, and camaraderie from a gifted fellow seeker. “What follows are three hundred and sixty-six quotations culled from various books I have written…There are a lot of books like this floating around these days, and I own several of them myself. I keep them on my bedisde table and am most apt to look at them at night just before I switch off the light. I open to the quotation for whatever day it happens to be and hope that it will turn out to be a good one to sleep on. Sometimes it is, and sometimes it isn’t. The good ones, for me, are the ones that almost uncannily hit on something that I have been thinking about, often without realizing that I have. They are the ones that sound like a friend talking, like somebody who has been more or less where I have been and felt something more or less like what I have been feeling – about life, about myself, about the people I love and the people I am unable to love, about God. They are not so much the ones that tell me something new that will keep me awake, puzzling over it, as the ones that will help me see something as familiar as my own face in a new way, with a new sense of its depth and preciousness and mystery. Above all, I guess, the good ones, for me, are the ones that one way or another suggest that although the night is coming, it is not darkness but light that is the end of all things. I can only hope that the reader will find at least a few like that buried among all these pages. And that they will bring good dreams.” – Frederick Buechner, in the Introduction to Listening to Your Life”

Your turn: What books are you currently reading?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

