Three Assumptions Regarding the Soul’s Life With God

Soul Keeping by John Ortberg has quickly jumped on to my short list of “must read” books (you can find a list of the 3 books that have impacted my life the most here).  In chapter 10, The Soul Needs to Be With God, Ortberg talks about 3 assumptions we should put to the test when it comes to the soul’s life with God:

  • God wants to make every moment of my life glorious with his presence.

“This is the core of the ‘with God’ life. It’s not just that he wants to be with us, but that he desires to make our lives ‘glorious.’ …God wants you to focus on him. To be with him… Every day is a collection of moments, 86,400 seconds in a day. How many of them can you live with God? Start where you are and grow from there. God wants to be with you every moment. The psalmist say, ‘I have set the LORD always before me.’ Paul says, ‘We take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.’ They speak to the need for our souls to be completely and thoroughly with God. But as both of these verses suggest, it does not happen automatically. ‘Set’ and ‘take captive’ are active verbs, implying that you have a role in determining where your soul rests.”

  • The best place to start doing life with God is in the small moments.

“I don’t know about you, but when I stand on a bluff overlooking the ocean or watch the sunrise over the peaks of a mountain range, it’s easy to be ‘with God.’ …Unfortunately, those moments are few and far between… Which is why we need to deliberately look for God in the ordinary moments of everyday life. When I wake up, I invite God to “Be with me this day.’ Then I try to consciously experience him walking next to me. Not in a magnificent worship experience, but in the ordinary and mundane.”

  • People will look different when I see them with God.

“People are a huge part of the ‘with God’ life, because we have to live with people. We have to interact with them. How we get along with people says a lot about where our soul rests. When we are living with God, we will see people as God sees them. If I’m aware God is here with me, and God is looking at you at the same moment I’m looking at you, it will change how I respond to you.

Your turn… Take a moment to share how these have been true in your life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

