Three Resources to Help You Get Your Message Out

Most people have something worth sharing, but too often their message never gets out. This is something I’ve definitely noticed in the first nine months since starting this blog. Here are some of the resources I’ve been learning from in an effort to better get my message out (I’ve only touched the tip of the iceberg in utilizing these resources but my intention is to focus more time on implementing what I’m learning and to dig deeper to see what else I need to do — these resources are great for individuals and/or organizations that simply want to do a better job of getting their message out):

Michael Hyatt, one of the top business bloggers in the world, provides down-to-earth guidance for building and expanding a powerful platform. To be successful in the market today, you must possess two strategic assets: a compelling product and a meaningful platform. In this step-by-step guide, Michael Hyatt, former CEO and current Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishers, takes readers behind the scenes, into the new world of social media success. He shows you what best-selling authors, public speakers, entrepreneurs, musicians, and other creatives are doing differently to win customers in today’s crowded marketplace. Hyatt speaks from experience. He writes one of the top 800 blogs in the world and has more than 100,000 followers on Twitter. His large and growing platform serves as the foundation for his successful writing, speaking, and consulting practice.

Erich’s note: there are so many helpful, practical ideas in this book (and on Michael Hyatt’s blog). You’ll find yourself going back to it often. Make sure you follow him on Twitter and subscribe to his blog (you’ll get a free eBook when you do).

Description of Jeff’s blog:  I love compelling stories, worthy causes, and Pez candy. I’ve been writing for most of my life, but only recently started calling myself a writer and actually believing it. I started this blog in 2010 with some burning questions:

  • How do successful writers make a living?
  • What does it really take to get published?
  • How do you pursue a passion?

What I found in this search was a community of like-minded individuals sharing many of the same struggles. Here is where we wage war on the blank page, where we band together to find purpose in our art and lives. If you have a passion for creativity and changing the world, this blog is for you.

Erich’s note: I just recently discovered this blog and I’m looking forward to learning more… Make sure you follow him on Twitter and subscribe to his blog (you’ll get a couple of free resources too).

Claire Díaz-Ortiz is an author, speaker, and technology innovator who has been named one of the 100 Most Creative People in Business by Fast Company. Claire was an early employee at Twitter, where she was hired to lead social innovation, and where she still works today. Her post, How to Start a Blog, was her top post in 2013.  She is also the author of Twitter for Good: Change the World One Tweet at a Time. Make sure you follow her on Twitter and subscribe to her blog (you’ll receive several free resources when you do).

Erich’s note: I discovered Claire’s resources when I read her  BarnaFRAMES book, Greater Expectations. After reading her book I found her blog to be loaded with great posts and resources.  FYI: I currently use the free WordPress blog for my platform but I’ve been thinking about following the advice of these 3 to set up a “self-hosting” blog (if so, I might do it in June around the 1 year anniversary of my blog if I get courageous enough and find someone to help me design it, we’ll see…)

Your turn… What are some other resources you’ve found useful in getting your message out?

16 Comments

Filed under Blogs, Books, Communication, Technology

16 responses to “Three Resources to Help You Get Your Message Out

  1. Improvements-Everything about this game is improved.
    For the time I spent learning EFT, and doing the
    actual tapping, the payoff was amazing. While you might feel the
    temptation to try and get back at your ex girlfriend, that’s probably not the best thing that you can do.

  2. So let’s get immigrant groups, let’s get African Americans, let’s start to make it work london
    housing market for them. So, taxes, this is the comparable rent for a
    $1 million house, based on stated income.

  3. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.

    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

  4. Admiring the hard work yoou put into your site and in depth information yoou offer.
    It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t tthe same out of date rehashed
    information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to mmy Google
    account.

  5. Hi! I know this is kindda off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew were I could find a captcha plugin for my coment form?
    I’musing thee same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly
    informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  7. Hey I know this iss offf topic but I was wondering iff
    you knew of any widgets Icould aadd to my blog that automatically tweet myy newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking foor a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some
    experience with something like this. Please let me know if you
    run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  8. Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if youu knew where I could find a captcha
    plugin for my comment form? I’m sing the same blog platform as yours and I’m
    having problems finding one? Thanks a lot!

  9. Hi there, i read yor blog fropm time to time and i own a sikilar onee and
    i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do youu prootect against it, any plugin or anything you can recommend?
    I gett so much lately it’s driving mee mad so any support
    is very much appreciated.

  10. I know this site provides quality based posts and other data,
    is there any other site which offers these kinds of information in quality?

  11. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. That is an extremely smartly writtten article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark itt and return to earn extra of your useful info.
    Thank yyou for tthe post. I will certainly comeback.

  12. My family membrrs always say that I am wasting my time here at net, however I know I am getting know-how all the time by
    reading thes fastidious articles.

  13. Youu actually make it seeem really easy with your presentation however Iin finding thius matter tto be actually something that I think I’d never understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and extremely wide
    for me. I amm taking a looik forward on your subsequent submit, I will attempt to get the dangle of it!

  14. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely ddo I coome across a blog that’s
    both equally educative and amusing, and wirhout a doubt, you’ve hit
    the nail on the head. The problem is something which not
    enough peolle aare speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I came across tis in my hunt for something regarding this.

  15. Hey There. I found yor blog the usse of msn. That is a very neatly written article.
    I will be sure tto bookmark it and come back tto read more of
    your useful info. Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

Leave a comment